Newsletter – May 1, 2019

Dear Members,

It was great to see so many Fairhaven faces over Easter for the final weekend of the patrolling season.

We celebrated the end of season in style with a host of club events and thanks to all involved for their support and input.

Port Campbell SLSC Tragedy

As most members would be aware, 2 longstanding patrol members from Port Campbell SLSC tragically lost their lives on Easter Sunday whilst attempting a rescue in treacherous conditions off that coast.

As a club, our hearts go out to both the family and friends of Ross and Andy Powell as well as the Port Campbell SLSC and community. It is difficult to imagine a more devastating event occurring within the broader Lifesaving community.

It also highlights the importance of the work that our club and the Association does in terms of a commitment to water safety, training and education.

We also wish to extend our wishes for a speedy recovery to Lifesaver Philip Younis who was injured in the rescue attempt.

Fairhaven SLSC has formally communicated our condolences to the Port Campbell SLSC.


Please click on the link below to read a message to all members from SLSA President – Graham Ford

Go To: A Message from SLSA President

Fundraising Details for Port Campbell SLSC Members

The Surf Life Saving Australia Foundation has set up a portal for those members and clubs who wish to make a donation to the families of Ross and Andy Powell as well as to the Younis family.

Members who would like to donate one off or regular amounts to help them can do so through the below link.


Presentation Night

An excellent crowd of over 100 members attended our Presentation Night at the club on Easter Sunday. Members young and old were well represented and a great night was had by all.

Congratulations to all our Award Winners:

President’s Trophy for Club Service: Alan Martin

Best Active Member: Eve Lardner

Lifesaver of the Year: Tom Burt

Most Patrol Hours: Sam Morrison

Trainer of the Year: Campbell Miller

Best Patrol: Patrol 7
Stew Miles, Hannah Borash, Phil Thomas, Oli Bliem, Vanessa Lewanski, Sean Lawler, Tim Fulton Bob Stewart, Andy Thomas, Oscar Ablinger

Patrol Member of the Year:
Patrol 1 – Ollie Paton
Patrol 2 – Maeve Bousie
Patrol 3 – Sam Morrison
Patrol 4 – Campbell Miller
Patrol 6 – Olly Stephens
Patrol 7 – Oscar Ablinger

Sports Awards

Best Performed Competitors
Junior Female – Olivia Hamley
Junior Male – Gabe Cornwell
Open Female – Mia Hamley
Open Male – Bob Stewart, Francis Pamminger, Peter Jeffery, Michael Heaton Harris, Stewart Cato, Peter Grant

Contribution Awards:
Maurice McCutcheon, James Cornwell

Outstanding Sports Achievement:
Karen Costa, Sam Trask, Melia Frangos, Mardi Spittle, Tracey Holding, Teresa Baker, David Thompson

Club Championships

U14 Female – Lily Jordan
U14 Male – John Cornwall

Open Women – Chloe Hardman
Open Men – Brad Cummins
Over 40 Men – Guy Callaghan
Over 70 Men – Mal Freake

Iron Man Brad – Cummins
Iron Woman – Chloe Hardman

River Swim

After a couple of false starts – the weather gods smiled on us on Easter Saturday for the staging of our Annual River Swim. Given the time of year, a good turnout of swimmers fought out a very competitive race.

Full results can be found here: FSLSC – River Swim 2018-19 – Results (pdf)

River Swim 2018-19

River Swim 2018-19

Congratulations to the following winners:

Handicap Winner: Ed Paton
Fastest Time: Guy Callaghan

Over 40 Male: Guy Callaghan
Over 40 Female: Chloe Hardman
Open Male: Brad Cummins

Cadet: Gabe Cornwell
Nipper: Audrey James

River Swim 2018-19

IRB Training

The Training and Assessment team ran their largest IRB Drivers course over the Easter break.

A total of seven candidates and five trainers were handed favourable weather conditions over the first 4 days of training.

But as usual, the swell picked up for the assessment day on ANZAC Day and the candidates’ skills were put to the test.

All candidates passed with flying colours, and will be seen around the grounds on patrol, and providing water safety during training and for carnivals.

Thank you to Jacqui Dreher and Julia Schwarcz who coordinated the program.

IRB Racing

IRB Racing

Fairhaven made a successful return to the IRB Racing arena for Round 1 of the 2019 season at Mordialloc last Sunday in wild and windy conditions.

After nearly 20 years out of the game, the club finished 5th overall on the day, a brilliant result given the small size of our team compared to others. A huge congratulations also goes to our women’s team of Ellen Porter, Jess Sincock & Bridie O’Callaghan who got a 2nd place in the IRB Rescue Event! (Full results are listed below).

Looking ahead to the next carnivals at Ocean Grove (12th May) and Lorne (25th & 26th May), we will look to field more crews and as such we are looking for anyone who may be around to help out as an Official and/or First Aider on the day! If you’re available to help, please get in touch with Liam O’Callaghan (0424 963 490).

Thanks to everyone who has supported the team to get up and running again, and if you’re down the coast for the next couple of carnivals we would love to have some blue and orange supporters there!

Round 1 Mordialloc – Results:

  • Women’s IRB Rescue – 2nd Place
  • Women’s IRB Mass Rescue – Semi Final
  • Men’s IRB Rescue – Quarter Final
  • Men’s IRB Mass Rescue – Quarter Final

IRB Racing

Now that the season has formally concluded, thanks to all our members for their support and contribution to our great club over season 2018-2019.

We will keep you informed about forthcoming club activities over the winter months and look forward to some beach time and warmth at the Haven very soon!

Best wishes,

Darren West
President – Fairhaven SLSC