Newsletter – July 5, 2019

Dear Members,

Welcome to a Winter/School Holidays edition of our newsletter!

Fairhaven SLSC Annual General Meeting

Notice is hereby given that the 61st Annual General meeting of the Fairhaven SLSC will take place on:

Sunday 11th August – 10.30am
Fairhaven SLSC clubhouse

The agenda for the meeting can be found here.

Nominations and/or expressions of interest for Committee positions/delegate roles are called for.

Please email [email protected] if you wish to discuss further.

As part of our Sustainability Initiative – Annual Reports will be in electronic format and emailed to all members shortly. All Annual Reports are also available on our website ongoing. A small number of 2018/19 Annual Reports will be in hard copy format. These will be mailed to members over the age of 70 and Life Members (unless otherwise specified) and available at the AGM.

We are grateful to our members for their cooperation on this initiative.

Clubhouse Upgrade

We have successfully completed the addition of sliding glass panels to the western aspect of the clubhouse. This will facilitate a significant shelter from the wind tunnel effect that occurs when a south westerly blows as well as providing an additional protected training space for usage by Nippers as well as Bronze and SRC training squads.

Sliding glass panels to the western aspect of the clubhouse
Sliding glass panels to the western aspect of the clubhouse

Many thanks to Dave Thompson for facilitating this project and working to obtain the necessary permits and approvals for the project to go ahead.

*click images to enlarge

IRB Racing – Australian Titles

Following on from a successful foray back into competition at the State Titles, Fairhaven SLSC will be well represented at the forthcoming IRB National Championships to be held at Kingscliff Beach, NSW from 11-14 July.

Fairhaven SLSC will be represented the following members.

  • Alex Schwarcz
  • Liam O’Callaghan
  • Jacqui Dreher
  • Romany Columb
  • Jessica Sincock
  • Ellen Porter

Good Luck to Team Haven!!

IRB Racing – Australian Titles

Photo: Andy Berry

IRB Racing – Australian TitlesPhoto: Andy Berry

LSV Awards of Excellence

Fairhaven is very lucky to have a number of members nominated for awards at the Annual – LSV Awards of Excellence function to be held on Saturday 27 July.

Those nominees are:

  • Jacqui Dreher – Lifeguard of the Year
  • Laura Buckley – Assessor of the Year
  • Thomas Burt – Youth Lifesaver of the Year
  • Alex Schwarcz – Trainer of the Year
  • Michael Henderson, Alex Buckley, Alex Schwarcz – Rescue of the Year (Labour Day Rescue off rocks at Sunnymeade Beach)

Congratulations to all our nominees, we wish you the best of luck at these awards!

LSV Awards of Excellence 2019

To attend the LSV Awards of Excellence book now at:

Security Upgrade – Fairhaven SLSC Gymnasium

The security upgrade to the Yarringa Rd Gym has been completed and the gym is now available to financial members (16 years and older).

Access is now via a Fob system so in order to obtain access, please apply for a personal fob via email to [email protected].

Please include your full name, postal address and contact phone number.

Following the AGM in August, our membership department will start getting organised by getting Membership renewals out during September.

Please look out for these in your inbox. The club relies heavily on the support of our fantastic members!

We look forward to seeing you at the Haven very soon!

Best wishes,

Darren West
President – Fairhaven SLSC